Disability Categories – Article 7

A child is considered educationally handicapped or disabled if he or she is having trouble learning in school because of mental, physical and/or emotional disabilities. A student must be evaluated and determined eligible for special education. A student may be found eligible for special education and related services in one or more of the thirteen (13) disability categories according to Indiana Administrative Code (IAC) 511 IAC 7-41-1 through 7-41-13.

* Click on the links below for additional information *

Autism Spectrum Disorder
Blind or Low Vision
Cognitive Disability
Deaf or Hard of Hearing
Developmental Delay (early childhood)
Emotional Disability
Language or Speech Impairment
Multiple Disabilities
Other Health Impairment
Orthopedic Impairment
Specific Learning Disability
Traumatic Brain Injury